NFO encode grf with 32 bpp

Discussions about the technical aspects of graphics development, including NewGRF tools and utilities.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
temporal8
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 286
Joined: 17 May 2019 14:15

NFO encode grf with 32 bpp

Post by temporal8 »

Hi, Is there any special parameter to encode a nfo grf with 32 bpp graphics? I've done it in the past, 2 years ago but I don't remember anymore, I've been using nml ever since.

I am trying to encode a nfo with a 32 bpp train station however inside the game it only shows me the 8bpp graphics, not 32 bpp.

Edit: I doing something wrong, i tried to decode and encode my real Gardens grf (Real gardens was made in nml and work fine) and i get the same result, not nfo 32bpp encoding, I suspect that the 32bpp graphics are not being included in the grf (I can tell by the size of the file).

Im using this command:

grfcodec.exe -e realgardens.grf

I miss any parameter?

Thanks in advance.
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7987
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: NFO encode grf with 32 bpp

Post by Eddi »

first thing i'd check is whether NFO version 7 or 32 is used.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)
User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2204
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: NFO encode grf with 32 bpp

Post by Quast65 »

For my stationcoding, I use this commandline:
Encoding_String.png
Encoding_String.png (2.49 KiB) Viewed 309 times

Code: Select all

    -g <num>  Version of the encoded container format (default 1, maximum 2)
GRF container version 2 is an extension to the current (New)GRF file format that adds support for having sprites with multiple zoom levels and different colour depths.
So, I believe that the -g 2 is the missing part for your encoding-line (if your NFO-code is correct offcourse).
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
User avatar
2TallTyler
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 409
Joined: 11 Aug 2019 18:15
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: NFO encode grf with 32 bpp

Post by 2TallTyler »

For what it's worth, NML currently supports stations in a work-in-progress branch: https://github.com/OpenTTD/nml/pull/244
My projects on GitHub
temporal8
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 286
Joined: 17 May 2019 14:15

Re: NFO encode grf with 32 bpp

Post by temporal8 »

2TallTyler wrote: 01 Aug 2022 01:39 For what it's worth, NML currently supports stations in a work-in-progress branch: https://github.com/OpenTTD/nml/pull/244
Thanks!!

I get a error making the grf file (using the provided files without modifications):

f:\REAL STATIONS\nml station>nmlc -c --grf example_station.grf example_station.nml
nmlc ERROR: "example_station.nml", line 68: 'DEFAULT' is not defined as a function.
Post Reply

Return to “NewGRF Technical Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests